BJJ Gis for the Tall and Skinny (updated 8/9/12)

At 6’4” and 195lb I have a real hard time finding kimonos that fit me correctly.  If they’re the right size in the body, the arms and legs are 4 inches too short.  When the arms are the right length the rest of the kimono fits like a moomoo.  We’re in a sport with weight classes and one that tends to favor those with long limbs and lean athletic builds.  So why is it so hard to find a quality gi that fits when you’re tall and lean?

This list is intended at a resource to help you find companies that made kimonos that will (hopefully) fit you better.  The methods that I’ve used are straightforward.  Using Aesopian’s gi survey as a starting point.  I looked at each company website and their sizing charts to determine if they offer kimonos to accommodate those of us that a more lanky than the average person.

I am not including reviews for any gis (other than Aesopian’s excellent survey) at this time because I haven’t used the vast majority of the gis.  Reviews will be included in subsequent posts so keep an eye out for them.  I am only including brands that specifically include sizing for the tall and skinny guy.  There are several brands that are cut to be more suitable for someone with a slim build but without actually trying a gi on I wouldn’t be able to give good information.

Brands With Long Sizes:

  1. Origin
  2. Shoyoroll
  3. Redstar
  4. Pirahna Gear
  5. Fushida
  6. Zombie Kimonos
  7. Omega Maniac
  8. Gorilla Gear
  9. Ground Control
  10. CTRL Industries
  11. De Firma
  12. Inverted Gear
  13. Ronin Gi

Please let me know if you are aware of any other gi companies that offer sizing options specifically for the taller and leaner athlete so that I can keep the list current.

16 Comments on “BJJ Gis for the Tall and Skinny (updated 8/9/12)

  1. Pingback: Kimonos for the Tall and Skinny - The Grapplers Guide

  2. Pingback: BJJ Kimonos for the Tall and Skinny - Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

  3. Pingback: BJJ Kimonos for the Tall and Lanky - Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

  4. Thank you very much for this list! It matches with my own private list I’ve drawn up from recurring recommendations for tall and thin guys (I’m 6’1,5 and 165 lbs) on various forums and blogs. You have all of the companies on my list and even more. But I have to ask you about MKimonos (which are also recommended for lanky types sometimes): where on their website did you find “everything on their site talks about them being made specifically for guys with that build”? I found a sizing chart that vaguely supports that claim but no statement on the website specifically addressing that point.

    • I can’t find where I read that either, sorry. Like you mentioned the sizing chart suggests that they’re made for thinner guys. I’d like to say that they must have changed their website but it’s very possible that I read about the sizing on Sherdog and then used the sizing chart to confirm.

  5. Pingback: Help with Gi sizing for long-armed friend - Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

  6. I have been looking for a list like this for quite sometime now. Thanks. Although now I’m annoyed thanks to you. I had never even heard of Omega Maniac before and now all I want is the sold out Titan gi.

  7. Pingback: Fuji gi on BJJHQ - Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

  8. Tatami Estilo gi’s have long sizes, I just bought the A2 XL – hipefully it fits my 6 foot 5 85kg frame!

      • I just got the A2 XL and at 6 foot 2 it was too short in the sleeves and pants. I don’t see how it will work for someone 6 foot 5. Many of the tall sizes from different brands are still not that tall, and I am close to the upper limit already, without considering the shrinking that will happen over time. The search continues, and it’s getting pretty annoying to be honest….

  9. I’ve bookmarked this page. You’ve done a fantastic job with this! Thanks!

  10. Hey thanks for the great guide, it has been a big help. The first gi I bought was the tall fushida, a well built gi but I recently got the Kingz 420 light in a tall. It’s a great gi and super comfortable, so much so that I plan on selling the Fushida. So I think Kingz is worthy to be on your list. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,128 other followers

