Redstar Gi Review

About a week ago I posted a list of jiu jitsu kimonos that are well-suited to the taller and leaner BJJ practitioners.  A week or so before Aesopian’s survey was posted I came across Redstar, http://redstarbjj.com/index.html, while searching for a new gi.  Google turned up some positive reviews and after looking at the site I realized that they were having a sale and that they offered sizes specifically for tall and lanky types.  After a few emails to the owner (he answered them all very quickly even though it was a weekend night) I ordered a white Redstar Stamp gi.

The Review

Appearance:

 Redstar Bjj Gi Stamp WhiteBjj Gi Pants

I really like the look of the gi.  The embroidery is of excellent workmanship and highlights the overall quality of the gi.  The red stitching does a great job of adding to the appearance of the gi without being overly busy or cluttered.

Fit:

I’ve tried on about half a dozen gis.  And so far none have fit me as well as this gi.  The size chart from the manufacturer is below.  And if you have any questions just email them.  I sent several emails in the evening on a weekend and all were answered within 30 minutes.

The gi has been washed by me three times now.  All three times I washed it on cold and hung it to dry, there has been no shrinkage at all and it fits exactly the same as it did out of the bag.

For what it’s worth, I’m 6’4″, ~215lbs, have an ~82 inch wingspan from fingertip to fingertip and the A3L fits me better than about half of my shirts do.

Size Weight Height More Info
A0 100 – 125 lbs 5’0″ – 5’4″
A1 110 – 160 lbs 5’4″ – 5’8″
A2 160 – 200 lbs 5’8″ – 6′ Even if you’re 210, but stockier build and no taller than 5’8″
A2L 160 – 200 lbs 6’1″- 6’4″
A3 200 – 230 lbs 5’10” – 6’4″ fighters we know wear this size are: 5’10”-230; 5’11”-220; 6’3″-210; 6’4″ – 200
A3L 190 – 230 lbs 6′ – 6’5″ similar to above, but more for taller guys with longer arms
A4 230 – 270 lbs 6’0″ – 6’5″
A5 250 lbs + 6’1 – 6’6″ be a giant

Customer Service:

As I’ve already mentioned several times Redstar was extremely attentive with their emails and answers all my questions quickly and completely.  The gi was shipped the following day by standard mail and I got it in about 2 weeks (pretty quick considering it was the holidays and shipped from Canada).

Final Thoughts:

I will definitely buy another Redstar gi.  Great experience and great product.  I have a feeling that I’m going to be kicking myself for not buying two when I had the chance.

4 Comments on “Redstar Gi Review

  1. Pingback: Redstar Gi Review? - The Grapplers Guide

  2. Ya I have bin wearing Redstar gi’s for a couple years now and I couldn’t be happier, i’m 6’3″ and 230lbs and I rock an A3l as well feted it once and it shrunk a tiny bit to fit me perfect, my first gen comp gi is 2 and a half years old and the knee just ripped and the jacket is still mint. great brand great owner and great gi’s, can’t wait to see a big name pro wearing it!

Leave a Reply

