Mind Map: Gracie Barra Fundamentals – Weeks 1 thru 4

I’ll start this blog entry by saying that I’ve wanted to watch this series ever since I discovered it existed a few months ago.  The series breaks down the curriculum and requirements for the Gracie Barra Fundamentals class.  There are 4 DVDs in the series.  Each disc covers 4 weeks of material and according to progressions posted on most GB school websites ( http://focabjj.com/beltsyst.htm) represents the knowledge needed to earn 1 stripe on your white belt.

The techniques in each DVD are taught by Marcio Feitosa (http://www.bjjheroes.com/bjj-fighters/marcio-feitosa) and are presented clearly and from multiple angles.  The audio is very good and Marcio is easy to follow.  The techniques are taught in a specific order and do build on previous lessons.  It is clear after just a few minutes watching the video that a lot of thought and effort was put into the videos, techniques and development of the curriculum.

The video can be found at Budovideos: (http://www.budovideos.com/shop/customer/product.php?productid=29757&cat=&page=1 and at ~$50 for 8 hours of instruction is a solid deal.

 

8 Comments on “Mind Map: Gracie Barra Fundamentals – Weeks 1 thru 4

  1. Pingback: Mind Map for Gracie Barra Fundamentals - Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums

  2. Cool: I think the head coach is about to kick off with some passing, which will presumably follow this scheme at least in part. Although this week, he’s going for passing spider guard, so could be he’s covering material from one of the other three DVDs.

    I’ll most likely go through breaking grips and setting on the pass in my lesson on Thursday. Is there stuff on breaking spider guard grips on the GB Fundamentals DVD? I don’t think I’ve watched beyond the first DVD yet, but always useful to have another perspective on something I’m planning to teach.

  3. Nothing in the first DVD. I’ve also got the advanced curriculum DVDs and would imagine that would be in there (if it’s covered). I’ll be starting the next DVD later this week with a map coming next Monday or Tuesday.

    • Glad it was helpful. I’m about 90% sure that I’m going to go back to the old ones and update them with a review and more info.

  4. Pingback: Mind Map: Gracie Barra Fundamentals: Weeks 5 & 6 | Mapping my BJJ Journey

  5. Awesome site and flowchart. Very helpful. I Stumbled upon your site looking for info on the Gracie Barra DvDs. Marcio Feitosa from the DVD and Marcelo Ribeiro just opened up some schools here in Nashville TN, so I think I am going to try to get back into BJJ. Great blog.

Leave a Reply

